Final Farewell: IEBC Commissioners to Release 2022 Election Report Before Exiting Office


Share Post:

On Monday, January 16th, the present commissioners of the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) will have their last public function before leaving office on Tuesday, January 17th, with the publication of their 2022 Post-Election Evaluation Report. 

After completing their constitutionally mandated six-year terms, the commission’s chairman, Wafula Chebukati, and commissioners, Prof. Abdi Guliye and Boya Mule, will retire. The IEBC’s election heads are the first to serve out their full constitutional term, making this an important milestone. 

The people who came before them were either voted out of the office or resigned under intense pressure.

Since Chebukati, Guliye, and Mule will retire and Irine Masit has been suspended pending the outcome of her case before the tribunal set up by President William Ruto, the commission will be without a single commissioner as of Tuesday. 

Chebukati replaced Issack Hassan, who resigned amid protests and calls for his ouster from the opposition Nasa party, headed by Raila Odinga, over alleged mismanagement of the 2013 general election.

There have been certain difficulties throughout Chebukati’s time as IEBC chairman. Raila Odinga and the Nasa alliance opposed him strongly in the 2017 and 2022 elections, saying he had bungled the polls and demanded his resignation each time. 

Chebukati has been lauded by President Ruto, who says he is a hero for standing firm against the state apparatus to ensure genuine elections despite these obstacles.

The three election heads said their last goodbyes to the IEBC personnel over the weekend in a ceremony that was both emotional and reflective of the successes and failures of the past election cycle. 

They made suggestions for how the commission should strengthen Kenya’s democracy in the future.

Share Post: