Johnson Muthama Nominated to Powerful Parliamentary Service Commission


Johnson Muthama, the United Democratic Alliance (UDA) chair, has been selected as a non-MP representative to the Parliamentary Service Commission (PSC), following the completion of interviews conducted in December of last year. The shortlist for the position included former Kisii Governor James Ongwae, former MPs Peter Mwathi, Chris Wamalwa, Cornelly Serem, and David Were, as well as former Kwale County Assembly Speaker Sammy Ruwa and Aruma John Ekale. Out of the 171 applicants, only eight individuals were selected for consideration.

Nomination Report to be Tabled in Parliament

The report on the nominations will be presented in both the National Assembly and Senate when they resume their sessions on Tuesday. Muthama will be replacing Ainabkoi MP Samuel Chepkonga, who resigned last year to defend his seat. The commission, established under Article 127 of the Constitution, is one of the independent commissions responsible for ensuring the smooth operation of both Houses of Parliament, the Senate, and the National Assembly. National Assembly Speaker Moses Wetangula serves as the chairperson of the commission, with nominated senator Joyce Korir as the vice chair, and the Clerk of the Senate as the secretary. Other members include senators Faith Gitau, Mishi Mboko, Mohamed Ali, Okong’o Omogeni, John Kinyua, and Patrick Makau.

With Muthama’s vast experience in politics and leadership, he is well-equipped to take on the important role of representing non-MPs on the commission and contributing to the smooth running of Parliament.

Install Our App


Share this story:

Keep up-to-date with KenyanStory, your go-to source for the latest and most significant news and top stories.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

More Stories

Similar Stories

Cleophas Malala rebukes ANC and FORD-K parties for refusal to fold into UDA

Cleophas Malala, the Secretary General of the United Democratic...

Government Officials Controversially React to Raila’s Monday Public Holiday Declaration

Azimio Leader Raila Odinga's declaration of a public holiday...

5 parties in Kenya Kwanza administration merge with UDA

In a major political development in Kenya, five parties...

Raila Odinga faces setback as 30 leaders from Nyanza region join President Ruto’s party

Raila Odinga, the leader of the Azimio La Umoja...

Governor Sakaja Accuses President Ruto of Surrounding Himself with Divisive Allies

During a church service in Roysambu on March 12,...

Raila Odinga accuses Interior CS Kithure Kindiki of threatening him.

Raila Odinga, the Azimio Leader, has accused Interior Cabinet...

Raila Odinga to lead rally in Narok, tour Ewaso Nyiro and Ntulele Markets

On Saturday, a rally will be led by Azimio...

Raila Odinga announces eggs and other products boycott strategy to Azimio la Umoja supporters

During a rally in Migori County, former Prime Minister...