Kenyan MPs Boycott Retreat Over Failed NG-CDF Disbursement


Share Post:

On Monday, a group of Members of Parliament (MPs) in Kenya boycotted an induction retreat, due to the government’s failure to disburse the National Government Constituency Development Fund (NG-CDF). The legislators were reportedly seeking answers as to why the funds were not being released as promised.

A video that has since gone viral shows the MPs at a resort in Mombasa, chanting “Wabunge Msilale bado Mapambano” (MPs don’t sleep the struggle continues). The MPs have accused Treasury Cabinet Secretary Professor Njuguna Ndung’u of playing games with them, claiming that he had promised to release Sh2 billion a week for the last two months, but nothing had been received.

Yatta MP Robert Basil expressed his frustration, stating that there are at least 10,000 students in his constituency who need bursaries and the Sh5 million received so far is not enough. He added that the government has only sent Sh7 million to the NG-CDF accounts, with Sh2 million allocated for administration and Sh5 million for bursary. Basil went on to say that it would be better if the government told them they have no money and extend the school holidays.

The MPs are expecting to receive at least Sh50 million for bursary. Other MPs like Marakwet West MP Timothy Kipchumba, Mvita MP Mohamed Machele, and Karachuonyo MP Adipo Okuome also expressed their disappointment and stated that the education of children should be prioritized over that of MPs.

According to the National Assembly’s Twitter account, the retreat is ongoing, and the MPs were seeking clarification on the delay and an audience with the National Treasury. However, many of the MPs are still pushing for the resources to be channeled towards working for the people of Kenya and prioritizing the education of Kenyan children. The failure of the government to disburse the funds has caused a great deal of frustration among the MPs, and they are calling for immediate action to be taken to address the issue.

Share Post: