HomeEducationMore than 100 Teachers get rewards from TSC for outstanding work

    More than 100 Teachers get rewards from TSC for outstanding work

    Published on

    During the World Teachers Day celebrations on October 5, the Teachers Service Commission (TSC) honored 33 teachers for their outstanding contributions to ensuring the country’s educational system is of the highest caliber.

    A total of 264 teachers will be recognized for defying the obstacles in an effort to promote effective and high-quality education, according to TSC CEO Dr. Nancy Macharia’s remarks at a conference in Kenya School of Government- Lower Kabete.

    Among them are Peter Tabichi, who received the Commonwealth 2022 Exceptional Award, Joel Shunza Gitali, who received the WHO’s Anti-Tobacco Award, and Gerald Mutosi, who received the award for outstanding sculpture.

    The following exceptional Teachers received presidential awards:

    Moran of the Burning Spear Award (there are only four awards currently in the country)

    • Flora Mlatia- Kenya High School
    • Mayoo Kipchumba- Kapsabet Boys High School

    Order of the Grand Warrior of Kenya

    • Esther Njeri- Mureke
    • John Kuria- Mang’u High School
    • Maiyo Kipchumba – Kapsabet 
    • Indimuli Kahi- Machakos

    Head of State Commendations

    • Mulwa Mwendo- Inyokoni primary school
    • Sally Kosegi- Bishop Muge Memorial
    • Koech Solomon- Kangaru school
    • Mugo Lucy- Karatina Girls
    • Anyango Okebe- Anak dara primary
    • Amollo Anastacia- St Mary’s Lwak Girls
    • Kamau Phylis- Mahiga Girls
    • Peter Tabichi- Keriko Mixed Day Secondary School 
    • Abdi Ayub- Jamhuri High School
    • Emily Jerono- St luke preparatory
    • Inn Theolata- St Bridges Girls
    • Ali Yarow- Hudhile primary
    • Ryan Joseph- Achego primary
    • Losike Samuel- Nadwat primary school
    • Jilloh Abdullahi- Algani Girls primary
    • Cheruiyot Joseph – Kitait primary
    • Cecilia Teka- Lemek Namunyak Girls 
    • Bruce Kirage- Nyaikuro HIGH School 
    • Nyang’au Alfred- Mesabakwa Secondary School 
    • Onyango Jared- Nyalenda secondary school
    • Kalwa Adif Dube- El wak Secondary
    • Nzioka Johnson Matheka- Donholm primary
    • Kuria Mwangi- Murang’a High 
    • Catherine Wanja- Thika high school for the visually impaired
    Subscribe for the Latest news updates.
    KenyanStory informs you of the most relevant news and stories about Kenyans. Don't forget to share what you've read.


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here

    Captcha verification failed!
    CAPTCHA user score failed. Please contact us!

    Follow Us



    If Cherera is fired, Azimio will boycott the 2027 election.

    If four dissident Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) commissioners are removed from office,...

    Doctors to strike over frustration with Ruto’s government.

    As a result of the government's refusal to implement the Collective Bargaining Agreement  (CBA) for...

    Safaricom launched M-Pesa Go for youngsters.

    Safaricom, the major telecom provider in Kenya, has introduced a new financial product called...

    KDF has sent a third group of soldiers to the DRC Congo.

    The Embakasi Garrison in Nairobi has sent a third group of Kenyan soldiers to...

    More like this

    Teachers plan to boycott marking KCPE and KCSE exams

    In response to the Ministry of Education's failure to address the concerns of teachers...

    CBC Reform team plans to introduce new curriculum and uniforms.

    To provide the Competency-based Curriculum (CBC) enough time to be fully implemented, the Presidential...

    CS Machogu explains fee increase for secondary schools

    The government's decision to end the support for secondary school tuition has been addressed...