New Leadership, New Attitude: President Ruto Shakes Up Coast Water Works Board


President William Ruto has made a big change in the leadership of the Coast Water Works Development Agency. He gave five appointees of his predecessor, former President Uhuru Kenyatta, the boot and brought in a new team.

On February 1st, 2023, President Ruto officially revoked the appointment of Omar Boga as the chairman of the board through a Gazette notice. He also took away the positions of Hussein Ahmed Farah, Rehana Ismail, Abdul Timimi, and Joseph Charo Kambi who served as members of the board.

The President named Daniel Katama Mwaringa as the new chairman of the board, taking effect from February 1st, 2023, for a one-year term ending on February 25th, 2024. Mwaringa will be joined by Hafswa Abdalla Dele, Judith Wabosha Mwamburi, and Mohamed Masoud Mwahima as new members of the board.

Omar Boga was appointed by former Water Cabinet Secretary Sicily Kariuki under the Uhuru regime on February 26th, 2021, with a three-year term. Boga rose to prominence when he ran for the Msambweni Constituency by-election in 2020 under the Orange Democratic (ODM) Party. Unfortunately, he lost to independent candidate Feisal Bader, who was an ally of Deputy President William Ruto.

This move by President Ruto is part of his ongoing efforts to reorganize his administration through a series of key appointments to various boards and parastatals. With this latest change, the President is sending a clear message about who’s boss in the water works department.

Install Our App


Share this story:

Keep up-to-date with KenyanStory, your go-to source for the latest and most significant news and top stories.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

More Stories

Similar Stories

President Ruto announces the resumption of construction on Kimwarer, Arror and Itare dams

On Tuesday, March 14, President William Ruto announced that...

Raila Odinga faces setback as 30 leaders from Nyanza region join President Ruto’s party

Raila Odinga, the leader of the Azimio La Umoja...

Governor Sakaja Accuses President Ruto of Surrounding Himself with Divisive Allies

During a church service in Roysambu on March 12,...

President Ruto joins other leaders for thanksgiving service in Tharaka Nithi County.

President William Ruto attended an interdenominational thanksgiving church service...

Former CITAM Bishop David Oginde nominated as new Chairperson of EACC by President Ruto

On March 11, President William Ruto nominated Bishop David...

Captain William Ruto appointed as new Kenya Ports Authority Managing Director

Captain William Ruto has been appointed by Transport CS...

Anti-Ruto protests in Mbale and Luanda towns cause disturbances for local businesses

Protests have caused disruptions to businesses in the towns...

Pauline Njoroge’s appointment as board member revoked by Tourism Regulatory Authority

Peninah Malonza, Cabinet Secretary for Tourism Wildlife and Heritage,...