President Ruto Fires IEBC Commissioner Irene Masit for Electoral Misconduct


President, William Ruto, has fired Irene Masit from her position as Commissioner of the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) following recommendations from a tribunal headed by Justice Aggrey Muchelule.

Irene Masit

Masit was found guilty of grave misconduct and serious violations of the constitution.

The President declared a vacancy in the position of the sixth member of the IEBC.

The tribunal had been investigating Masit and three other former Commissioners for their alleged involvement in overturning the results of the presidential elections.

The other three commissioners, who had already resigned, were also recommended for dismissal by the tribunal.

Install Our App


Share this story:

Oliver Tonny
Oliver Tonny
An award-winning author with several published works in both non-fiction and fiction. Their writing style is known for its vivid imagery and compelling storytelling that captures the hearts of readers.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

More Stories

Similar Stories

Kenya signs deal with Australian energy firm for 300MW power hub

On March 15, Kenya took a significant step towards...

Ezra Chiloba escapes a rowdy group at an event in Kisumu

The Communications Authority explained what happened during an event...

Parents of Late Jeff Mwathi Frustrated with Slow Pace of DCI Investigation

The family of Jeff Mwathi expressed their dissatisfaction with...

Government to establish wellness and counselling desks across Kenya’s Huduma Centres.

On Monday, March 13, the government announced that it...

President Ruto announces the resumption of construction on Kimwarer, Arror and Itare dams

On Tuesday, March 14, President William Ruto announced that...

USAID announces Ksh12.9 billion investment for water and sanitation in Kenya

On Monday, March 13, the United States, through the...

Raila Odinga faces setback as 30 leaders from Nyanza region join President Ruto’s party

Raila Odinga, the leader of the Azimio La Umoja...