Supreme Court orders recount in 15 polling stations


Share Post:

In a recent judgement, the Supreme Court mandated a manual recount of ballots in 15 polling stations.

The judgement from the SCOK said that within 48 hours, ballot boxes from 15 different polling stations would be opened for examination and recount.

The IEBC was granted from 2:00 PM on Tuesday, August 30, 2022, to 2:00 PM on Thursday, September 1, 2022.

In addition, the SCOK ordered the IEBC to hand over all ballot boxes from the 15 polling stations so that the Court and the parties may inspect, examine, and recount the votes.

The polling stations in question include the Ministry of Water Tanks Polling Station in Mombasa County, Jomvi, Mikindani, and Nandi Hills and Sinendeti Primary Schools in Nandi, Belgut, Kapsuser, and Chepkutum Primary Schools in Kericho County, and Nandi Hills and Sinendeti Primary Schools in Nandi.
Mombasa County’s Mvita, Majengo, and Mvita Primary Schools; Nandi County’s Tinderet CONMO; and Nyandarua County’s Jarok, Gathanji, and Kiheo Primary School Polling are all on the list.

The Supreme Court issued an order requiring the IEBC to submit for review all Forms 34B related to the 290 Constituencies, both in paper and electronic (public portal) formats.

In addition, the IEBC was required to hand over all Forms 32A that were utilized during the election for manual voter identification.
A comprehensive KPMG Report on the Voter Register, a thorough audit report on the technology utilized, and a report on the vendor, due diligence, and technology used in the General Election held on August 9, 2022 were all requested from the electoral commission.

They were also tasked with delivering copies of the Kiambu polling place diaries and error forms signed by the IEBC chairperson to the National Tallying Centre for the tally and verification process that would take place from August 10th to the 15th, 2022.

The IEBC was also tasked with delivering its business continuity and disaster recovery plans as part of a redundancy strategy for the Election technology system.

Share Post: