The four IEBC commissioners to appeal Raila’s petition


Share Post:

To back up their claims of a mathematical error in the election results, the four commissioners of the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) who disagreed with the declaration of Willliam Ruto as president-elect plan to file separate affidavits in the petition filed by former Prime Minister, Raila Odinga.

On Thursday, August 25, one of the commissioners – who requested anonymity in order to speak with Nation Africa – said that the decision was prompted by Raila’s appeal, in which they are all listed as respondents.

The commissioner emphasized that the affidavits be filed in their professional capacities as IEBC employees and not as private people.

The Commissioner also denied rumors that they worked together with the Azimio la Umoja team and emphasized that they didn’t take sides in the election.

The IEBC representative also said that, should the 7-judge panel headed by Chief Justice Martha Koome request their testimony, they would be prepared to do so.

Vice Chairwoman Juliana Cherera, Commissioners Justus Nyang’aya, Francis Wanderi, and Irene Masit are the four who disagreed.

Share Post: