William Kisang wins Elgeyo Marakwet’s by-election Senate seat


Share Post:

UDA’s candidate for the Elgeyo Marakwet Senate seat, William Kisang, has won the election.

With 41,378 votes, Kisang easily won Thursday’s by-election; PPD’s Tim Kipchumba came in second with 38,151 votes.

The seat attracted a total of five candidates: Jerotich Seii of the Safina party, independents Andrew Mengich and Kelvin Kemboi, and Timothy Tanui of the New Democrats Party.

After former senator Kipchumba Murkomen was appointed Secretary of Transport by President William Ruto in October 2022, the seat became vacant.

Before the IEBC even released the final count results, two candidates—Tim and Seii—had already conceded.

Kisang received early congratulations from Murkomen and Nandi Senator Samson Cherargei.

Share Post: